Maqlu Tablet 2 Transliteration/Translation

Maqlu Fragment tab7pic

Greetings! I would like to welcome everyone to the Covenant of Babylon blog page. If this is your first time here, please feel free to review some of our previous articles and share your insights and comments. Stay Blessed. This is the 2nd Tablet of a 9 part series.

Maqlu Tablet II

Incantation. Mighty Nusku, counsellor of the great gods!
ÉN dnusku šur-bu-ú ma-lik ilîmeš rabû-timeš
Overseer of the sacrifices of all Igigi,
pa-qid nindabêmeš šá ka-la digigê
Who founds cities, who reviews the seats of the gods!
mu-kin ma-ha-zi mu-ud-di-šu parakkêmeš
Brilliant day, the promise of which is sublime,
u4-mu nam-ru šá qi-bit-su si-rat
5. Messenger of Anu, who is obedient to the secret of Enlil,
5. sukkal da-nim še-mu-ú pi-ris-ti den-lil
Obedient to Enlil, counsellor of the Igigi,
še-mu-ú den-lil ma-li-ku ša-du-ú digigê
Powerful in the fight, and whose rising is powerful,
gaš-ru ta-ha-zu šá ti-bu-šú dan-nu
Brilliant Nusku, who blinds his enemies to the Earth,
dnusku a-ri-ru mu-šab-riq za-ai-ri
Without you there is no meal in Ekur,
ina ba-li-ka ul iš-šak-kan nap-ta-na ina é-kur
10. Without you, the great gods do not smell incense,
10. ina ba-li-ka ilîmeš rabûtimeš ul is-si-nu qut-rin-nu
Without you, the judge Šamaš does not hold his court.
ina ba-li-ka dšamaš daiânu ul i-da-a-ni di-i-nu
Whoever remembers your name, you save him from difficulty, you spare him from distress.
ha-sis šu-me-ka te-it-tir ina i-dir-ti ta-ga-mil ina pušqi
I, your servant N., son of N., whose god is N., whose goddess is N.,
ana-ku ardu-ka annanna apil annanna šá ilu-šú annanna dištar-šú annannitumtum
I have turned to you, I have sought you out, my hands are raised, and at your feet throw myself;
as-hur-ka eš-e-ka na-šá-a qâtâ-ai šá-pal-ka ak-mis
15. Burn the warlock and the witch,
15. qu-mi kaš-šá-pi ù kaš-šap-ti
Away my warlock and my witch, lose their life fast and swiftly,
šá lúkaššapi-ia5 u fkaššapti-ia5 ár-hiš ha-an-tiš napišta-šú-nu lib-li-ma
Spare my life so I will be indebted, so I can praise your greatness!
ia-a-ši bul-lit-an-ni-ma nar-bi-ka lu-šá-pi dà-li-li-ka lud-lul

Incantation. To dissolve a spell with the help of an image made of tallow.
INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam lipî-KÉ

Incantation. Girra, perfect master; “you are powerful” is the meaning of your name.
ÉN dgira bêlu git-ma-lu gaš-ra-a-ta na-bi šum-ka
20. Nanna, you see everything.
20. dnanna-ra-ta na-bi šùm-ka
You lighten the dark house, eternally renewed light of the countries.
tuš-nam-mar bitatimeš ka-la-ma
You light up everything; I stand in front of you,
tuš-nam-mar gi-im-ra ka-liš ma-ta-a-ti
Because you restore justice.
áš-šu at-ta ta-az-za-zu-ma
Like Sin and Šamaš you make right,
ki-ma dsin ù dšamaš ta-din-nu di-i-nu
25. So restore my right, make my decision!
25. di-e-ni di-ni purussâ-a-a purusus
To your brilliant light I come,
a-na nûri-ka nam-ri az-ziz
To the shining torch, I come,
a-na elle-ti ti-pa-ri-ka az-ziz
Master, I am grabbing the hem of your coat,
bêlu sissiktu-ka as-bat
The hem of your divine coat I am grabbing.
sissikat ilu-ti-ka rabi-ti as-bat
30. She has packed the heart,
30. ………. -si il-ta-si eli-ia
the head, the neck and the face;
is-bat lìb-bi qaqqadi kišâdi-ia5 u muh-hi
She packed my looking eyes,
is-bat ênê-ia5 na-ti-la-a-ti
Packed my going feet,
is-bat sêpê-ia5 al-la-ka-a-ti
Packed my walking knees,
is-bat bir-ki-ia5 ib-bi-ri-e-ti
35. Packed my guiding arms.
35. is-bat idê-ia5 mut-tab-bil-a-ti
Now, in front of your great divinity,
e-nin-na ina ma-har ilu-ti-ka rabîtiti
The crossed copper images,
salmânimeš siparri it-gu-ru-ti
Of my warlock and my witch,
lúkaššapi-ia5 u fkaššapti-ia5
My sorcerer and my sorceress,
e-piš-ia5 u muš-te-piš-ti-ia5
40. My stupefier and my stupefyress,
40. sa-hir-ia5 u sa-hir-ti-ia5
My enchanter and my enchantress,
ra-hi-ia5 u ra-hi-ti-ia5
My lord opponent and my lady opponent,
bêl ik-ki-ia5 u bêlit ik-ki-ia5
My lord enemy and my lady enemy,
bêl sir-ri-ia5 u bêlit sir-ri-ia5
My lord persecutor and my lady persecutor,
bêl ri-di-ia5 u bêlit ri-di-ia5
45. My lord accuser and my lady accuser,
45. bêl di-ni-ia5 u bêlit di-ni-ia5
My lord slanderer and my lady slanderer,
bêl amâti-ia5 u bêlit amâti-ia5
My lord detractor and my lady detractor,
bêl dabâbi-ia5 u bêlit dabâbi-ia5
My lord nemesis and my lady nemesis,
bêl egirri-ia5 u bêlit egirri-ia5
My lord evil-doer and my lady evil-doer;
bêl limuttimtim-ia5 u bêlit limuttimtim-ia5
50. They gave me over to a corpse;
50. ana lúmiti pu-qu-du-in-ni
They subjected me to ridicule,
nam-ra-su kul-lu-mu-in-ni
To the evil Utukku or the evil Alu or the evil Etemmu,
utukku lim-nu lu-u alû lim-nu lu-u etim-mu lim-nu
The evil Gallu or the evil god or the evil Rabisu,
gallû lim-nu lu-u ilu lim-nu lu-u râbisu lim-nu
The Lamaštu or the Labasu or the Ahhazu,
dlamaštu lu-u dlabasu lu-u dahhazu
55. The Lilu or the Lilitu or the Ardat Lili,
55. lúlilu lu-u flilitu lu-u ardat lili
Or fever, the Sibit Šadi disease,
lu-u li-‘-bu si-bit šadi
Or epilepsy, the product of Šulpaea,
lu-u be-en-nu ri-hu-ut dšul-pa-è-a
Or Antašubba or evil god,
lu-u AN-TA-ŠUB-BA lu-u DINGIR-HUL
Or hand of god, or hand of goddess,
lu-u ŠU-DINGIR-RA lu-u ŠU-dIN-NIN-NA
60. Or hand of the Etemmu, or hand of the Utukki
60. lu-u ŠU-GIDIM-MA lu-u ŠU-UDUG
Or hand of the human, or Lamaštu, the young daughter of Anu,
lu-u ŠU-NAM-LÚ-LÍL-LU lu-u la-maš-tu sihirtutú marat da-nim
Or Saghulaza, the record-keeper of debts,
lu-u SAG-HUL-HA-ZA mu-kil rêš li-muttim
Or cooking of the flesh, paralysis, consumption,
lu-u di-kis šêrêmeš šim-ma-tú ri-mu-tú
Or everything bad that does not have a name,
lu mimma lim-nu šá šu-ma la na-bu-u
65. Or everything that does bad things among human beings,
65. lu mimma e-piš li-mut-ti šá a-me-lu-ti
Which holds me prisoner during the night, which chases me during the day,
šá sab-ta-ni-ma mu-ša u ur-ra iredú-nimeš-ni
Which destroys my flesh, which seizes me,
ú-hat-tu-ú šêrêmeš-ia kal u4-mi sab-ta-ni-ma
Which does not let me free for one night!
kal mu-si la ú-maš-šar-an-ni
Now, in front of your divine greatness,
e-nin-na ina ma-har ilu-ti-ka rabîtiti
70. I burn them, I incinerate them completely with pure sulphur.
70. ina kibri-dit ellititi a-qal-li-šú-nu-ti a-šar-rap-šú-nu-ti
Look at me, master, tear them out of my body,
nap-li-sa-an-ni-ma be-lum ú-suh-šú-nu-ti ina zumri-ia5
Dissolve their spell!
pu-šur kiš-pi-šú-nu lim-nu-ti
You, Girra, master who walks on my side:
at-ta dgira be-lum a-li-ki i-di-ia
If you keep me alive, I will praise you, I will adore and serve you!
bul-lit-an-ni-ma nar-bi-ka lu-šá-pi dà-li-li-ka lud-lul

75. Incantation to undo a spell with a copper figure and sulphur.
75. INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam siparri kibri-dit-KÉ

Incantation. Burning Girra, first-born of Anu,
ÉN dgira a-ri-ru bu-kur da-nim
Who leads my hearing and speaks my decision, you are;
da-‘-in di-ni-ia at-me-e pi-ris-ti at-ta-ma
You lighten up the darkness,
ik-li-e-ti tu-uš-nam-mar
You bring order to what is disordered, destroyed;
e-šá-a-ti dal-ha-a-ti tu-uš-te-eš-šir
80. To the great gods you grant a resolution,
80. a-na ilimeš rabûtimeš purussâa ta-nam-din
While for you no god makes any decision.
šá la ka-a-ta ilu ma-am-man purussâa ul i-par-ra-as
It is you who give order and direction;
at-ta-ma na-din ur-ti ù te-e-me
You bind the evil-doer,
e-piš lum-ni at-ta-ma ar-hiš ta-kam-mu
You strike quickly the evil enemy.
lim-nu ai-bu ta-kaš-šad ar-hiš
85. I, N., son of his god, whose god is N., and whose goddess is N.,
85. a-na-ku annanna mar ili-šu šá ilu-šú an-nanna dištar-šu annannitum
With witchcraft I am bewitched: this is why I have come to you!
ina kiš-pi lu-up-pu-ta-ku-ma ma-har-ka az-ziz
In front of god and king I am encircled: that is why I have turned to you!
ina pân ili u šarri na- ..zu-ra-ku-ma du .. ana mah-ri-ka
To whomever sees me, I am an unpleasant sight: this is why I have thrown myself in front of you!
elî a-me-ri-ia mar-sa-ku-ma šá-pal-ka ak-mis
Great Girra, radiant god!
dgira šur-bu-ú ilu el-lu
90. Now, before your great divinity,
90. e-nin-na ina ma-har ilu-ti-ka rabîtiti
I have made two images of the warlock and the witch, in copper, by your hand;
2 salmanimeš lúkaššapi u fkaššapti šá siparri e-pu-uš qa-tuk-ka
Before you I have crossed them, I have given them to you.
ma-har-ka ú-gir-šú-nu-ti-ma ka-a-šá ap-kid-ka
They may die; but may I live!
šu-nu li-mu-tu-ma ana-ku lu-ub-lut

They may detour; but may I go straight!
šu-nu li-ti-ib-bi-ru-ma ana-ku lu-ši-ir
95. They may reach their limit; but may I grow!
95. šu-nu liq-tu-ú-ma ana-ku lu-um-id
They may become weak, but I strong!
šu-nu li-ni-šu-ma ana-ku lu-ud-nin
Powerful Girra, illustrious among the gods,
dgira šar-hu si-ru šá ilimeš
Who seizes the evil and the enemy: seize them while I do not perish,
ka-šid lim-ni u ai-bi kušus-su-nu-ti-ma a-na-ku la ah-hab-bil
That I, your servant, may stay alive, may be safe, may stay standing in front of you!
ana-ku ardu-ka lul-ub-lut lu-uš-lim-ma ma-har-ka lu-uz-ziz
100. You are my god, you are my master!
100. at-ta-ma ili-ia5 at-ta-ma be-li
You are my judge, you are my helper!
at-ta-ma da-ai-ni at-ta-ma ri-su-ú-a
You are my avenger! Incantation formula.
at-ta-ma mu-tir-ru šá gi-mil-li-ia TU6.ÉN

Incantation to undo the spell with a bronze figure.
INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam siparri-KÉ

Incantation. Burning Girra, first-born son of Anu!
ÉN dgira a-ri-ru mar da-nim qar-du
105. You are the sternest among your brothers,
105. iz-zu ahemeš-šú at-ta
You who makes right like Sin and Šamaš.
šá ki-ma dsin u dšamaš ta-da-an-nu di-i-nu
Give me justice, make my decision!
di-i-ni di-ni purussâ-ai purusus
Burn the warlock and the witch!
qu-mi kaš-šá-pi ù kaš-šap-ti
Girra, burn the warlock and the witch!
dgira qu-mu lúkaššapi u fkaššapti
110. Girra, fry the warlock and the witch!
110. dgira qu-li lúkaššapi u fkaššapti
Girra, incinerate them!
dgira qu-mi-šú-nu-ti
Girra, fry them!
dgira qu-li-šú-nu-ti
Girra, get them!
dgira ku-šu-us-su-nu-ti
Girra, devour away!
dgira a-ru-uh-šú-nu-ti
115. Girra, take them away!
115. dgira su-ta-bil-šú-nu-ti
They who inflict the evil witchcraft and malevolent spell,
e-piš kiš-pi lim-nu-ti u ru-hi-e la tabûtimeš
Who thought of me with evil intention:
šá a-na li-mut-ti ik-pu-du-ni ia-a-ši
Let a criminal take their possessions!
dan-nu ma-ak-kur-šu-nu šu-ul-qi
Let a thief steal their property!
šu-bil bu-šá-šu-nu ik-ki-e-ma
120. Let a looter invade their residence!
120. elî ma-na-ha-te-šu-nu hab-ba-ta šur-bi-is
Furious Girra, perfect and all-powerful,
dgira iz-zu git-ma-lu ra-šub-bu
In Ekur where you go back, as fast as possible calm down!
ina é-kur a-šar tal-lak-ti-ka tu-šap-šah-šu-nu-ti a-di sur-riš
By the word of Ea, your procreator, and of Šamaš, I have become radiant;
ina a-mat dé-a ba-ni-ka ù dšamaš an-nam-ru
May the seven Aphkallu of Eridu think of them with evil intention! Incantation formula.
7 apqallê šuut eri-du10 lik-pi-du-šú-nu-ti ana limnuttimtim TU6.ÉN

125. Incantation to undo the spell with an image made of dough.
125. INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam liši-KÉ

Incantation. Powerful Girra, terrible weather!
ÉN dgira gaš-ru u4-mu na-an-du-ru
You lead gods and princes right!
tuš-te-eš-šir ilimeš u ma-al-ki
You lead the trial of the oppressed man and the oppressed woman;
ta-da-a-ni di-ÉN hab-li u ha-bil-ti
Come to my trial! Like Šamaš the hero,
ina di-ni-ia i-ziz-za-am-ma ki-ma dšamaš qu-ra-du
130. Lead my trial, and make my decision.
130. di-i-ni di-ni purussâ-ai purusus
Burn the warlock and the witch!
qu-mi kaš-ša-pi u kaš-šap-ti
Eat my enemies! Devour those who wish evil!
a-kul ai-bi-ia a-ru-uh lim-nu-ti-ia
May they catch your ferocious weather! Incantation formula.
ûm-ka iz-zu lik-šu-us-su-nu-ti TU6.ÉN

Incantation to undo the spell with an image made of bronze.
INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam titi-KÉ

135. Incantation. Majestic Girra, first-born of Anu!
135. ÉN dgira šar-hu bu-kur da-nim
Radiant offspring of the great Šalaš!
i-lit-ti ellitimtim šá-qu-tum dša-la-aš
Majestic, forever becoming, constant word of the gods,
šar-hu id-di-šu-u zik-ri ilimeš ka-ai-nu
Who distributes the offerings to the gods the Igigi,
na-din nin-da-bi-e ana ilimeš digigê
Who gives brilliance to the Anunnaki, the great gods!
šá-kin na-mir-ti a-na da-nun-na-ki ilimeš rabûtimeš
140. Furious Girra, who destroys the conduit,
140. iz-zu dgira muš-har-mit a-pi
Strong Girra, who destroys wood and stone,
dgira al-la-lu-ú mu-ab-bit isemeš u ab-nemeš
Who burns the evil offspring of the warlock and the witch,
qa-mu-ú lim-nu-ti zêr lúkaššapi u fkaš-šapti
Who destroys the wicked offspring of the warlock and the witch!
mu-hal-liq rag-gi zêr lúkaššapi u fkaš-šapti
Today come to my trial furiously,
ina u4-mi an-ni-i ina di-ni-ia i-ziz-za-am-ma
145. You, who makes submission … seize the evil!
145. e-piš bar-ti te-na-na-a ku-šu-ud lim-nu
As these figures drip, melt and dissolve,
kima salmânimeš an-nu-ti i-hu-lu i-zu-bu u it-ta-at-tu-ku
So may the warlock and the witch drip, melt, and dissolve!
lúkaššapu u fkaššaptu li-hu-lu li-zu-bu u lit-ta-at-tu-ku
Incantation to release witchcraft with a figure made of asphalt.
INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam itti-KÉ

Incantation. Keš, Libeš, Kideš!
ÉN ki-e-eš li-bi-iš ki-di-eš
150. Arabbeš Nadreš!
150. a-ra-ab-bi-eš na-ad-ri-eš
Who carries the torch, rides the wind!
nâš ti-pa-a-ri ra-kib šá-a-ri
Lirun Hunti!
li-ru-un hu-un-ti-i
Kasayašu Izannun!
ka-sá-a-šu i-za-an-nun
Rain like Heaven on them!
ki-ma šá-ma-me el-ku-un
155. Like a snake may they come in, go hither!
155. ki-ma siri li-te-ru-ba-ma i-sá-a
May the furious great incantation of Ea the magician,
lik-tum-ku-nu-si siptu iz-zi-tú rabîtutú šá dé-a mašmaši
Fall on you of Ninahaquddu,
ù tu6-kug-ga-e šá dnin-a-ha-qud-du
May they destroy your appearance! Incantation formula.
li-la-ap-pit bu-un-na-an-ni-ku-nu TU6.ÉN

Incantation to undo the spell with a figure of kuspum.
INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam kuspi-KÉ

160. Incantation. They did magic, they did ceaseless magic!
160. ÉN e-pu-šu-ni e-te-ni-ip-pu-šu-ni
They tried to roll me like a ball of wool!
ki-ma ki-i-ti ana ka-pa-li-ia
They tried to clap me to the ground like a bird-clapper!
ki-ma hu-ha-ri ana sa-ha-pi-ia
They tried to destroy me like a chip of rock!
ki-ma ka-a-pi ana a-ba-ti-ia
They tried to cover me like a net!
ki-ma še-e-ti ana ka-ta-me-ia
165. They tried to roll me like a wick!
165. ki-ma pi-til-ti ana pa-ta-li-ia
They tried to climb me like a wall of clay!
ki-ma pi-ti-iq-ti ana na-bal-ku-ti-ia
They tried to fill me with dirty water!
ki-ma mêmeš mu-sa-a-ti a-sur-ra-a ana mal-li-ia
They tried to sweep me out the door like household refuse!
ki-ma šu-šu-rat bîti ana bâbi ana na-sa-ki-ia
But I, by order of Marduk, the master of the holy evening,
ana-ku ina qi-bit dmarduk bêl nu-bat-ti
170. And Asarluhi, the master of magic,
170. u dasari-lú-du10 bêl a-ši-pu-ti
The sorcerer and sorceress,
e-pi-šu u e-piš-ti
Like a ball of wool I roll them!
ki-ma ki-i-ti a-kap-pil-šu-nu-ti
Like a bird-clapper I throw them to the ground!
ki-ma hu-ha-ri a-sa-hap-šu-nu-ti
Like a chip of rock I destroy them!
ki-ma ka-a-pi ab-ba-šu-nu-ti
175. Like a net I cover them!
175. ki-ma še-e-ti a-kat-tam-šu-nu-ti
Like a wick I roll them!
ki-ma pi-til-ti a-pat-til-šu-nu-ti
Like a wall of clay I climb them!
ki-ma pi-ti-iq-ti ab-ba-lak-kit-šu-nu-ti
Like dirty water I fill them!
ki-ma mêmeš mu-sa-a-ti a-sur-ra-a ú-ma-al-la-šú-nu-ti
Like household refuse I sweep them out the door!
ki-ma šu-šu-rat bîti ana bâbi a-na-as-sik-šú-nu-ti
180. May the image of the warlock and the witch become ashes! Incantation.
180. titalliš lil-li-ka salam lúkaššapi u fkaššapti ÉN

Incantation to undo a spell with a figure of asphalt covered with plaster.
INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam ittî šá gassa bullulu-KÉ

Incantation. Who are you, witch, who took the clay from my river?
ÉN at-ti man-nu fkaššaptu šá ina nâri im-lu-‘ tita-ai
Who burned my figures in her dark house?
ina bîti e-ti-i ú-tam-me-ru salmanimeš-ia
Who spilled my water over a grave?
ina qab-rì it-mi-ru mu-ú-a
185. Who gathered sprigs of my fruit trees in the corners?
185. ina tub-qi-na-ti ú-laq-qí-tu hu-sa-bi-e-a
Who cut the seam of my robe in the house of the tanner?
ina bit lúašlaki ib-tu-qu sissikti-ia
Who gathered up the dust of my feet on the threshold?
ina askuppati iš-bu-šu epirhi.a šêpê-ia
I sent to the mouth of the harbour, where tallow was bought for you;
áš-pur ana bâb ka-a-ri i-šá-mu-ú-ni li-pa-a-ki
I sent to the moat, where clay was picked up for you;
áš-pur ana hi-rit ali iq-ri-su-ú-ni ti-i-ta-ki
190. I sent against you a portable furnace,
190. áš-ta-pa-rak-kim-ma a-li-ku ti-nu-ru
The fire already lit,
dgira mu-un-na-ah-zu
The forever becoming Girra, constant light of the gods;
dgira id-di-šu-u nur ilimeš ka-ai-nu
Sin in Ur, Šamaš in Larsa,
dsin ina uruki dšamaš ina larsaki
Nergal together with his people,
dnergal a-di um-ma-na-ti-šú
195. Ištar in Akkad at her house:
195. dištar a-ga-deki a-di ku-um-mi-šá
May they seize the offspring of the warlock and the witch,
a-na la-qa-at zêri lúkaššapi u fkaššapti
However numerous they are,
ma-la ba-šu-ú
May they kill the witch, but I stay alive!
fkaššapta li-du-ku-ma ana-ku lu-ub-lut
Because I did not bewitch her, she bewitched me!
áš-šu la e-pu-šá-áš-šim-ma i-pu-šá
200. Because I did not use sorcery on her, she used sorcery on me!
200. áš-šu la as-hu-ra-áš-šim-ma is-hu-ra
She trusts the spell that she designed,
ši-i tak-lat ana kiš-pi šá kit-pu-du-ú-ti
But I trust my judge Gibil!
ù a-na-ku a-na ez-zu dgibil da-a-a-nu
Girra, burn her! Girra, incinerate her!
dgira qu-mi-ši dgira qu-li-ši
Girra, strike her! Incantation formula.
dgira šu-ta-bil-ši TU6.ÉN

205. Incantation with a clay figure dipped in tallow.
205. INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam titi šá lipâ bullulu-ké

Incantation. Who are you, witch, who visits me continuously?
ÉN at-ti man-nu kaššaptu šá tub-ta-na-in-ni
Who continuously looks for me with evil intentions?
a-na li-mut-ti taš-te-ni-‘-in-ni
Who continuously looks for me with unfavourable intentions?
a-na la ta-ab-ti ta-as-sa-na-ah-hur-in-ni
I do not know your city, I do not know your house, I do not know your name, I do not
know your residence.
al-ki ul i-di bit-ki ul i-di šum-ki ul i-di šu-bat-ki ul i-di
210. May the Šedu visit you,
210. dšêdêmeš li-ba-‘-ki
May the Utukku look for you,
utukkêmeš liš-te-‘-u-ki
May the Etemmu hover around you,
etimmêmeš lis-sah-ru-ú-ki
May a bad epilespy fall upon you!
be-en-nu la ta-a-bu eli-ki lim-qut
So may the evil stool “lift your head,”
rabisêmeš li-mut-ti li-kil-lu rêš-ki
215. May the god … and Šulpaea kill you!
215. d………….u dšul-pa-è-a li-na-ru-ki
May the god … … wash you out!
d…………. en ši ……… -ki li-ip-šit
May furious Gibil, who knows no pity, steal reason from you!
dgibil iz-zu la pa-du-u lìb-bi-ki lí-is-su-uh
May Gula, the great physician, strike your cheek!
dgu-la a-zu-gal-la-tu rabitutu li-it-ki li-im-has
May furious Gibil burn your body!
dgibil iz-zu zu-mur-ki li-ih-mut
220. Pure daughter of the sky-god Anu,
220. ….. ellitumtum mârat da-nim šá šamê
Who is spread in the vessel,
šá ina kar-pat na-an-hu-za-at [isatu]
… of the heart … Gibil the hero …
… libbi …. dgibil qar-du sa-ma-a …
… … which the sky,
……. ….. šá-ma-mi ik-šu-du
… … burn …
…………….. qu-li i kat-ta………
225. Incinerate as fast as possible! Of my warlock and my witch,
225. qu-mi ha-an-tiš šá lúkaššapi-ia5 u fkaššapti-ia5
Uproot their life!
na-piš-ta-šú-nu lib-li-ma
Let me live, so I can praise your greatness;
ia-a-ši bul-lit-an-ni-ma nar-bi-ka lu-šá-pi
So I can adore you!
dà-li-li-ka lud-lul TU6.ÉN

Incantation to undo the spell with a figure of tamarisk or cedar-wood.
INIM-INIM-MA ÚH-BÚR-RU-DA sa-lam isbini salam iserini-KÉ

230. Incantation. The witch, who goes on the roads.
230. ÉN kaššaptu mut-tal-lik-tum šá sûqâ-timeš
Tablet II of Maqlu.
tuppu IIkam ma-aq-lu-ú

One comment on “Maqlu Tablet 2 Transliteration/Translation

Leave a comment