Maqlu Tablet 4 Transliteration/Translation

Maqlu Fragment tab7pic

Greetings! I would like to welcome everyone to the Covenant of Babylon blog page. If this is your first time here, please feel free to review some of our previous articles and share your insights and comments. Stay Blessed. This is the 4th Tablet of a 9 part series.

Maqlu Tablet IV

Incantation. Cook, cook, burn, burn!
ÉN biš-li biš-li qi-di-e qi-di-e
Meanness and evil, do not come in: go away!
rag-gu u si-e-nu e te-ru-ub at-lak
Who are you, whose son? Who are you, whose daughter?
at-ta man-nu mâr man-ni at-ti man-nu mârat man-ni
You who sit here and command your sorcery, your plots,
šá áš-ba-tu-nu-ma ip-še-ku-nu up-šá-še-ku-nu
5. That you have done against me!
5. te-te-ni-ip-pu-šá-ni ia-a-ši
May Ea the magician undo,
lip-šur dé-a mašmašu
And nullify your sorceries!
lis-bal-kit kiš-pi-ku-nu
Asarluhi, the magician of the gods, son of Ea the wise!
dasari-lú-du10 mašmaš ilimeš mâr dé-a apqallu
I bind you, I tie you up, I give you over,
a-kas-si-ku-nu-ši a-kam-mi-ku-nu-ši a-nam-din-ku-nu-ši
10. To Girra, who burns, incinerates, binds,
10. a-na dgira qa-mi-e qa-li-i ka-si-i
Overpowers and seizes the sorceress!
ka-ši-du šá fkaššapâtimeš
May incinerating Girra strengthen my arms!
dgira qa-mu-ú li-tal-lal i-da-ai
The magic, revolt, malediction, love, hate,
ip-šú bar-tu a-mat limuttim râmu zêru
Injustice, murder, paralysis of the mouth,
dipalâa zitarrutâa kadibbidâ KUŠ.HUNGA
15. Tearing of the insides, glowing of the face and insanity,
15. šabalbalâa su-ud pa-ni u šá-ni-e tè-e-mu
You have done, you have made others do, you have done, may Girra undo!
te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You marked me for a corpse, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na lúpagri ta-hi-ra-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You turned me over to the skulls, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na gul-gul-la-ti tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You turned me over to a ghost of my family, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na etim kim-ti-ia tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
20. You turned me over to the ghost of a stranger, you have done, may Girra undo!
20. a-na etim a-hi-i tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You turned me over to a wandering ghost who has no caretaker, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na etimmi mur-tappi-du šá pa-qí-da la i-šu-u te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You turned me over to a ghost inhabiting ruins, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na etim har-bi na-du-ti tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You turned me over to the steppes, the open country, the desert, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na sêri ki-di u na-me-e tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You turned me over to the inner wall and the outer wall, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na dûri ù sa-me-ti tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
25. You turned me over to the mistress of the steppe and high ground, you have done, may Girra undo!
25. a-na dbe-lit sêri u ba-ma-a-ti tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You turned me over to the bread oven, the stove, the pail of coals and the bellows, you have done, may Girra undo!
a-na utûn la-ab-ti tinûri kinûni KI.UT.BA ù nap-pa-ha-ti tap-qí-da-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have given images of me to a corpse, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia a-na lúpagri tap-qí-da te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have given images of me for a corpse, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia a-na lúpagri ta-hi-ra te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have laid down images of me next to a corpse, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia it-ti lúpagri tuš-ni-il-la te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
30. You have put down images of me in a corpse’s lap, you have done, may Girra undo!
30. salmânimeš-ia ina sûn lúpagri tuš-ni-il-la te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have buried images of me in the grave of a corpse, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia ina qimah lúpagri taq-bi-ra te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have turned images of me over to skulls, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia a-na gul-gul-la-ti tap-qí-da te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have locked images of me in the wall, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia ina igâri tap-ha-a te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have put down images of me on the threshold, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia ina asquppati tuš-ni-il-la te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
35. You have locked images of me in the entrance to the wall, you have done, may Girra undo!
35. salmânimeš-ia ina bi-‘ šá dûri tap-ha-a te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have buried images of me on the bridge so that people stepped over them, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia ina ti-tur-ri taq-bi-ra-ma um-ma-nu ú-kab-bí-su te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have dug a hole in the basin of the wash-house and buried images of me there, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia ina bu-ri iqi šá lúašlaki bûra tap-ta-a taq-bi-ra te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have dug a hole in a gardener’s ditch and buried images of me there, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia ina iqi šá lúlâkuribbi bûra tap-ta-a taq-bi-ra te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
Images of me out of tamarisk, out of cedar, out of tallow,
salmânimeš-ia lu-u šá isbîni lu-u šá iserini lu-u šá lipî
40. Out of wax, out of sesame,
40. lu-u šá iškûri lu-u šá kuspi
Out of asphalt, out of clay, out of dough;
lu-u šá itti lu-u šá titi lu-u šá liši
Images, likenesses of my face and my figure you have modelled,
salmânimeš sir-ri-ia pa-ni-ia u la-ni-ia te-pu-šâ-ma
And given them to a dog, to a pig, to eat,
kalba tu-šá-ki-la šahâ tu-šá-ki-la
To the birds of the sky; have thrown them in the river;
issuru tu-šá-ki-la ana nâri taddâa
45. Images of me to Lamaštu, Anu’s daughter,
45. salmânimeš-ia a-na la-maš-ti mârat da-nim
You have given, you have done, you have made others do, may Girra undo!
tap-qí-da te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
Images of me you have given to Girra, you have done, may Girra undo!
salmânimeš-ia a-na dgira tap-qí-da te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have put down my water next to a corpse, you have done, may Girra undo!
mêmeš-ia it-ti lúpagri tuš-ni-il-la te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have put my water in a corpse’s lap, you have done, may Girra undo!
mêmeš-ia ina sûn lúpagri tuš-ni-il-la te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
50. You have buried my water in a corpse’s grave, you have done, may Girra undo!
50. mêmeš-ia ina qimah l;úpagri taq-bi-ra te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have buried my water in a corpse’s … you have done, may Girra undo!
ina ….. -tim mêmeš-ia taq-bi-ra te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have buried my water in a corpse’s … you have done, may Girra undo!
ina ….. -tim mêmeš-ia taq-bi-ra te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have scooped out my water in … you have done, may Girra undo!
ina ….. -me mêmeš-ia tah-ba-a te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have given my water to Gilgameš, you have done, may Girra undo!
mêmeš-ia ana dgilgameš ta-ad-di-na te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
55. You have picked me for … of the ditch, you have done, may Girra undo!
55. ana …. -li-e ta-hi-ra-in-ni te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have cut the throat before Sin, you have done, may Girra undo!
zikurudâa a-na pa-ni dsin te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have cut the throat before Šulpaea, you have done, may Girra undo!
zikurudâa a-na pa-ni dšul-

pa-è-a te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have cut the throat before the constellations Cygnus and Lacerta, you have done, may Girra undo!
zikurudâa a-na pa-ni MULU4-KA-DU8-A
You have cut the throat…… you have done, may Girra undo!
58a. zikurudâa…………………………… te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have cut the throat…… you have done, may Girra undo!
58b. zikurudâa…………………………… te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have cut the throat…… you have done, may Girra undo!
58c. zikurudâa…………………………… te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have cut the throat…… you have done, may Girra undo!
58d. zikurudâa…………………………… te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur
You have cut the throat…… you have done, may Girra undo!
58e. zikurudâa…………………………… te-pu-šá-ni tu-še-pi-šá-ni dgira lip-šur

(break of about 6 lines)

… …
59. ………….. GAB TIN taš-……..
60. … …
60. …………….meš u uhuli tu-ram-me-ki-in-ni
… …
………………… tap-qi-da……………
… …
……………. -a-ti tu-še-bi-la………..
… …
……………. bîtu tu-šá-áš-qi ai……….
In front of … … and the gate of the house,
ina pân………………….. -zi u bâb bîti ma-………..
65. In front of comrades, companions, and servants of the same,
65. ina pân ib-ri tap-pi u ki-na-at-ti KI.MINA
In front of the father and mother, brother and sister, son and daughter of the same,
ina pân abi u ummi ahi u ahati mâri u mârti KI.MINA
In front of the house and the gate, slave and maid, small and large, of the same,
ina pân bîti u bâbi ardi u amti sih-ri u ra-bi šá bîti KI.MINA
You made me … to whomever looks at me.
elî a-me-ri-ia tu-šam-ri-si-in-ni….
I have bound you, I have tied you up, I have surrendered you,
ak-ta-mi-ku-nu-ši ak-ta-si-ku-nu-ši at-ta-din-ku-nu-ši
70. To Girra who burns, incinerates, binds,
70. ana dgira qa-mi-i qa-li-i ka-si-i
And seizes the sorceresses.
ka-ši-du šá fkaššapâtimeš
May the burning Girra untie your knots,
dgira qa-mu-ú li-pat-tir rik-si-ku-nu
Undo your enchantments, remove your ropes,
li-pa-áš-šir kiš-pi-ku-nu li-na-as si-ir-qi-ku-nu
Upon the order of Marduk, son of Ea the wise,
ina qí-bit dmarduk mâr dé-a apqalli
75. And of Girra the praising, the wise, the son of Anu, the hero! Incantation formula.
75. u dgira a-ri-ru ap-qal mâr da-nim qar-du TU6.ÉN

Incantation. Who are you, sorceress, who committed murder?
ÉN at-ti man-nu fkaššaptu šá zitarrutâa êpušaša
Whether comrade or companion,
lu-u ib-ru lu-u tap-pu-u
Whether brother or friend,
lu-u ahu lu-u it-ba-ru
Whether stranger or fellow-citizen,
lu-u ú-ba-ra lu-u mâr âli
80. Whether known or unknown,
80. lu-u mu-du-u lu-u la mûdû
Whether sorcerer or sorceress,
lu-u lúkaššapu lu-u fkaššaptu
Whether man or woman, whether murderer or murderess,
lu-u zikaru lu-u sinništu lu-ú hab-lu lu-ú ha-bil-ti
Whether kurgarru-priest or sahhiru,
lu-u lúkur-gar-ru-u lu-u sah-hi-ru
Whether one … or a naršindu or a snake-charmer,
lu-u … lu-u nar-šin-du-u lu-u muš-lahhêe
85. Whether an agugilu or a foreigner who happens to be in the country,
85. lu-u a-gu-gi-lu-u lišanu nukur-tum šá ina mâti ibašši
… the weapon … to the land,
…….-tu giškak-ku-šu li-še-bir-ma
… … do not come close! Incantation formula.
………………. -mid-su-nu-te TU6.ÉN

Incantation. My murderess, my sorceress, my enchantress,
ÉN nir-ti-ià fkaššapti-ia5 u ku-šá-pa-ti-ia5
(10 lines missing)
(10 lines missing)
… …
is ……………….
90. … …
90. ma-……………
… …
a-……..-si-šú-nu-ti……
I grab you, … …

a-ta-am-ma-ak-šú-nu-ti ki-……….
I put you in the fire which burns,
a-šak-kan-šú-nu-ti ana pi-i dgira qa-mi-i
Burns, binds, seizes,
qa-li-i ka-si-i ka-ši-du
95. The sorceresses! Incantation formula.
95. šá fkaššapatimeš TU6.ÉN

Incantation. Who is the father of the sun, who his mother,
ÉN šá dšamšiši man-nu abu-šú man-nu ummu-šu
Who his sister and brother his judge,
man-nu a-hat-su-ma šu-ú da-a-a-nu
Of Marduk, Sin … …
šá dmarduk dsin d……………….
The perfect god … …
ilu git-ma-lu…………………
100. Šamaš … …
100. dšamaš ……………………….
And she, the goddess his judge,
ù ši-i diš-tar a-hat-su-ma šu-u da-a-a-nu
I destroy the sorcery,
kiš-pi ú-hal-laq…………..
Witchcraft, revolt, malediction,
ep-šu bar-tum âmat lemut-tim
Upon the order of … Incantation formula.
ú-pa-šar ………………………….TU6.ÉN

105. Incantation. It hexes, and it hexes all the time.
105. ÉN i-pu-šá-ni i-te-ni-ip-pu-šá-ni
The Cuthites, the Elamites,
gu-ti-e-ti e-la-ma-a-ti
The daughters of the Hanigalbatians.
ma-rat ha-ni-gal-bat-a-ti
Six on the land tie knots.
6 ina mâti i-rak-ka-sa-a-ni rik-si
Six are their knots; seven are my loosenings.
6 riksi-ši-na 7 pit-ru-ú-a
110. What they tie by night,
110. šá mûša ip-pu-sa-nim-ma
I untie by day.
šá kal u4-mu a-pa-áš-šar-ši-na-ti
What they tie by day,
šá kal u4-mu ip-pu-šá-nim-ma
I untie by night.
šá mûša a-pa-áš-šar-ši-na-ti
I put them in the fire which burns,
a-šak-kan-ši-na-a-ti ana pi-i dgira qa-mi-i
115. Incinerates, binds and seizes,
115. qa-li-i ka-si-i ka-ši-du
The sorceresses! Incantation formula.
šá fkaššapatimeš TU6.ÉN

Incantation. My danger is a witch, I am released.
ÉN ru-‘ú-a kaš-šá-pat ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is a witch, I am released.
fkaššaptu kas-šá-pat ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is an Elamite, I am released.
fkaššaptu e-la-ma-a-ti ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
120. The witch is a Cuthite, I am released.
120. fkaššaptu qu-ta-a-ti ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is a Sutian, I am released.
fkaššaptu su-ta-a-ti ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is a Lullubian, I am released.
fkaššaptu lul-lu-ba-a-ti ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is a Hanigalbatian, I am released.
fkaššaptu ha-bi-gal-ba-at ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is an agugiltu, I am released.
fkaššaptu a-gu-gi-lat ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
125. The witch is a naršindatu, I am released.
125. fkaššaptu nar-šin-da-at ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is snake-charmer, I am released.
fkaššaptu mušlahhat ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is a magic priestess, I am released.
fkaššaptu eš-še-ba-a-ti ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is a metal-worker, I am released.
fkaššaptu qur-qur-ra-a-ti ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
The witch is a bump on my gate, I am released.
fkaššaptu ši-i râbis bâbi-ia ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
130. The witch is a fellow-citizen of mine, I am released!
130. fkaššaptu mârat âli-ia ana-ku pa-ši-ra-ak
I have gathered her images, and I have sent them to the west.
áš-pur a-na e-rib dšamši salmânimeš-si-na il-qu-tu-ú-ni
The figures of the seven and seven witches,
šá 7 u 7 fkaššapâtimeš salmânimeš-ši-na
I have given over to Girra.
ana dgira ap-qid
In a portable oven I have burned them.
ana ú-tu-ni a-lik-ti a-šar-rap-ši-na-ti
135. Gibil, burn my warlock and my witch!
135. dgibil qu-mi lúkaššapi u fkaššapti
Gibil, incinerate my warlock and my witch!
dgibil qu-li lúkaššapi u fkaššapti
Gibil, burn them utterly!
dgibil qu-mi-ši-na-a-ti
Gibil, incinerate them utterly!
dgibil qu-li-ši-na-a-ti
Gibil, seize them!
dgibil kušus-si-na-a-ti
140. Gibil, devour them!
140. dgibil a-ru-uh-ši-na-a-ti
Gibil, take them away!
dgibil šu-ta-bil-si-na-a-ti
May the raging Gibil calm down!
ez-zu dgibil li-ni-ih-ka-na-ši
Gibil, … …
dgibil lu-li-mu li-…-ki-na-ši
The sorcerer and the sorceress, the enchanter and the enchantress,
lúkaššapu u fkaššaptu e-piš u e-piš-tum
145. May they truly … …
145. šu-nu lu-u …………… -kam-ma
But I, I let the water of the flood,
ana-ku mêmeš mîli-ma
come upon them! Incantation formula.
lu-u-ba-‘-ši-na-a-ti TU6.ÉN

Incantation. My enchanter and my enchantress.
ÉN e-piš-tum ù muš-te-piš-tum

Tablet IV of Maqlu.
tuppu IVkam ma-aq-lu-ú

6 comments on “Maqlu Tablet 4 Transliteration/Translation

  1. YOU translate not correcly, it reed ONLI by CHECHEN, (ISZKOR–its Ishkeria, SZOLGI– its r, SUNGA, GURUSZI — its GORGIA (TBILISI)

  2. 45. s al-mân im eš-ia a-na ” la-maš-t” imârat da-n im
    My GOD-(um) people (wen doing) named ” hailender” imârat doing /////

    (um)ma- i dont from english, its arabik relegi ( umma Islam, umma-katolik)

  3. When you read an English newspaper , you don’t use the dictionary. It you don’t need!
    I read cuneiform and I don’t need a dictionary, They are written in my native language.

  4. maybe You will be interested in the meaning of the word BABYLON. Literally translated BA – created Biy-tribe LU-tribe. This city founded by two tribes. Learn the ancient name of ISTANBUL . It was called RU-MA. The people that went with RU-MA is called ROUX-SEM-CHE (RUSSIA) There are different ancient name of the region (the E(A)NCLAVE, CHE.)
    Ukrainians call their country SCIEZ-CHE. The ancient name of the VOLGA river ITIL and the river in Chechnya “SUNZHA” nazyvalas SHULGI

  5. All cuneiform tablets tell the origins of peoples and religions. To preserve the immutability of the text ( it is impossible to insert the word), each subsequent word several letters were attributed to the previous word. This writing is completely eliminated insert foreign words, which can distort the meaning of the text. All figures in the text are read as the first two letters of the name of these figures. The exception is , if it says “read”, (disz) -then the name of the digits are read completely.

Leave a comment